Just a Walk Around the Block – Or is it?

Just a walk around the block

Dear Diary, I know that for some, a walk around the block is nothing. Those are probably the very same people who actually use a shopping cart for groceries and not just to hold them up in the supermarket. (I am not the least embarrassed to proudly pull up to a cashier with a mere pack of gum in my cart).

For me and I’m sure others, walking to the end of the driveway could require a lot of energy and AIR! The big bad wolf has nothing on me when I huff and I puff until I get back to my ‘safe place’ to sit.

So diary, this is why I write today to say how proud of myself I am for my accomplishment. As I struggled to get my Velcro sneakers on to feel athletic and walk to the end of the driveway – FULLY expecting it to be a major strain on my lungs and body, I was hugely and pleasantly surprised to find the end of the driveway came way too soon for me. As a matter of fact, as I ventured out beyond the driveway to attempt to pass the house next door, I was once again amazed that I hadn’t died yet. I began to take inventory as I continued to take on this feat I hadn’t been able to for so long. ‘Does my back hurt? – NO, are my legs hurting? NO, How is my breathing? a bit short but very doable”. Wow, who is this person? I continued to smile from ear to ear as I made it around a good-sized block safely into that very long and previously unaccomplishable driveway.  Yay for me… today the block, tomorrow – no shopping cart!

Leave a Reply

